Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. To make optimal use of this website please agree to our cookie policy.

I agree I do not agree.


Created by potrace 1.10, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2011

About Kenya

Kenya is an important partner country of VLIR-UOS. From 2003 to 2021 VLIR-UOS spent around € 30,4 million in cooperation with Kenya, including a long-term Institutional University Cooperation (IUC) Programme with the University of Nairobi and Moi University (MU-K, Eldoret). The IUC partnership with Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) which started in 2017 is the cornerstone of the cooperation with Kenya. In 2021, a new IUC partnership with Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST) is being phased in in view of full funding as of 2022

Ongoing projects

Institutional University Cooperation

Country Strategy

The Kenya country strategy fits into the role put forward for universities in the Kenya Vision 2030, by developing the necessary human resource base for achieving its goals. The following main themes for future interventions in cooperation with Kenya are identified:

  • Health. Subthemes: reproductive health, public health, phytomedicine, disease surveillance, etc.
  • Natural resources management and development. Subthemes: water resources, biodiversity, textile, oil and gas exploitation, etc.
  • Food security. Subthemes: food production (agriculture, aquaculture, animal husbandry), fisheries, food processing and marketing, food safety, etc.

The following cross-cutting theme is relevant for all activities in Kenya:

  • ICT development and statistics. Subthemes: ICT in education, ICT in lab practice, virtual networks, ICT infrastructure, data analysis, biostatistics, etc.

For TEAM projects, the following seven established public institutions with a strong research culture are able to take up a coordinating/mentoring role in networking modalities with new universities:

  • University of Nairobi
  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  • Moi University
  • Egerton University
  • Maseno University
  • Kenyatta University
  • Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute.

Other higher education institutions, accredited by the Commission for University Education and other public (non-profit) research institutes, can also be involved. South Initiatives are open to all accredited higher education institutions.

Overview current partners